Tags

, ,

I made something super delicious for breakfast this morning!  As I was drinking my coffee, I thought that a bagel and lox would be perfect.  It’s one of my favorite breakfast dishes.  I love a toasty bagel half topped with cream cheese, onions, capers and smoked salmon.  But I’m trying really hard to eat healthier and limit my (bad) carbs as much as possible.  So, I came up with this delicious alternative by leaving out the bagel and adding in eggs.  Here’s what I pulled out of my fridge with much excitement…..

We have here:

2 eggs
3/4 oz (or so) smoked salmon cut into bite sized pieces
3 extra thin slices red onion
1 tsp (or more, I like more) capers
1/2 oz feta cheese

These measurements are pretty accurate to what I used, but I must warn you that I eyeball most of my measurements when throwing something together like this.
Heat your skillet over medium low to medium heat.  Beat the eggs in a bowl with a splash of milk and then throw them in the skillet while they’re still nice and aerated.  This will give you fluffy scrambled eggs.  Then toss in the salmon, onion and capers.  Scramble until set, about 2-3 minutes depending on your heat level.  I cooked them over a low temp to ensure all the ingredients had a chance to get warm throughout.  Transfer the deliciousness in your skillet to a plate and crumble some feta cheese over the top.  Crack some pepper in there as well, but I left out the salt as the salmon and capers already have plenty.  Pour yourself some more coffee and enjoy!

There’s some cream cheese on the plate there, too. It was a little taste experiment to decide which tasted better with this dish and I think the feta wins by far!

I’m linking up this post over at 36th Avenue. Go check out all the awesome links over there!