Tags

, , ,

The title itself basically sums up how my lovely life has been for the past few weeks.  Don’t get me wrong, it’s a good thing!

I realized a few weeks ago that we had somehow managed to let the whole summer slip by without a single camping trip.  That’s just not acceptable in my book, so I quickly reserved a spot for us on the last weekend before the kids started school.  We went up to the mountains near Big Bear, which is only 2 hours away, if we hit traffic.  If you live in SoCal like me, you know that you almost always hit traffic.

Camping essentials: cards, dominoes, a good book, and of course, yarny goodness.

Camping essentials: cards, dominoes, a good book, and of course, yarny goodness.

Once we got our campsite set up, the boys went off to find us some firewood.  They came back with mostly pine cones!

Once we got our campsite set up, the boys went off to find us some firewood. They came back with mostly pine cones!

This was just a quick camping trip, we only stayed two nights, but it was a much needed unwinding together as a family.  I just love hanging out with my boys around the fire, laying the hammock reading or working on my crochet, and of course cooking!  I love to cook, even on a camp stove.  The first night I cooked up some rib eye steaks and the second night I made clam chowder.  Food always seems to taste better when you’re camping, at least it does to me.

The week following our trip was when the crazy really kicked in!  The kids started the new school year, as well as the new soccer season.  I volunteered to be team manager for one of their teams and let me tell you, that’s not as easy peasy as it was when they weren’t playing on a competitive level!  To top off the crazy, I took my dog to the vet to get spayed in the middle of that week.  And then this week, my other dog broke her dewclaw, so I had both dogs at the vet this morning!  Thankfully the kids weren’t there since they were in school.  Otherwise, I think I would have left my sanity there when I brought my dogs home!

This is our newest addition, Sorsha.  She actually doesn't mind the cone of shame too much!

This is our newest addition, Sorsha. She actually doesn’t mind the cone of shame too much!  I’m sure she can’t wait to go to the bathroom sans the leash!

And this is my girl, Marley, or Marles Barkley as I like to call her, at the vet getting that broken dewclaw checked out.

And this is my girl, Marley, or Marles Barkley as I like to call her, at the vet getting that broken dewclaw checked out.  I’m glad I painted my toes the day before C stole my phone to take pictures while I talked to the vet!  I do have a picture of Marley’s toe, but it’s not pretty, so I’ll keep it to myself.

So, now I’ve got Sorsha home and without stitches, but Marley is at the vet still.  He didn’t have any appointments available today, so instead he had me drop her off and will make time between patients.  I should be hearing from him anytime now about what he’s going to do to fix her up.  I love this guy, I hate taking my dogs to anyone besides him!

I feel like there needs to be more yarn.  Of course, there can never be enough yarn.

shot_1376419773749 (2)

This was just a quick little project, which I whipped up for my cousin’s birthday.  She is visiting us right now from Connecticut and I haven’t seen her in years!  It’s a hot pad or just a cute little table decoration and she loved it.  I’m so glad.  For this, I used Lucy’s hexagon pattern and JAYG (join-as-you-go) method.

I promise, there will be much more yarn in my next post!  So, until then…

Go…….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

