Tags

, , ,

This recipe for my Beef and Pork Chili is one that I have been meaning to share for a very long time.  It is the first recipe I ever came up with that I can actually say is mine, start to finish.  It is the result of my husband asking me to make a good, spicy, meaty chili to go on top of hot dogs.  Now I have always liked chunks of beef in my chili rather than ground beef, but I didn’t think that would work as well on hot dogs.  Not that I had ever made chili before.  Also, this chili has bacon in it.  It’s kind of the surprise ingredient that everyone sees in the bowl after a few bites.  I figured my husband thinks that everything is better with bacon, so why not?  And this is better with bacon!  Anyhow, I jotted down a shopping list of items that I thought would make for a delicious chili just like my man was requesting and I amazed myself by nailing it on the first try!

This is really tasty and has been a huge hit for everyone I have ever served it to.  This recipe makes a huge batch, so it’s my go-to for serving large crowds at birthday parties or pot lucks.  It also freezes very well, so I usually make a whole batch and freeze half of it when making it for just us.  That came in handy recently when my sister-in-law was sick and I dropped some off at her house while she was at work.

Grab these items and start chopping……..

Ingredients for Beef and Pork Chili by Dandelion Daze

Beef and Pork Chili

6 slices bacon, cut in 1/2″ pieces
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
2 medium white onions, chopped
2 green bell peppers, seeded and chopped
1 jalapeno, halved lengthwise and chopped (seeds and membranes removed to your liking.  Leave all or some for more heat.)
1/2 can (7 oz size) chipotle peppers in adobo sauce, diced (if I forget to buy the jalapeno, then I will use a whole can.  This adds lots of spice as well as a delicious smoky flavor, please don’t skip it!)
3 Tblsp chili powder
1 Tblsp cumin
1 Tblsp paprika
2 tsp dried oregano
Salt and pepper to taste
2 lbs ground beef
1 lb ground pork sausage (yup, like breakfast sausage!  I use Jimmy Dean)
1 cup beer (Newcastle or similar)
2 cans (15 oz size) red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
1 can (28 oz size) crushed tomatoes
1 can (28 oz size) diced tomatoes

Heat a large pot or Dutch oven over med-high heat.  Add the bacon and cook it until browned and crisp.  Meanwhile, chop the garlic, onions, bell peppers, jalapeno and chipotle peppers.  Don’t chop them up too small.

About this size.  I love these colors!

About this size. I love these colors!

Once the bacon is crisp, spoon off most of the grease and discard it.  Then, add the garlic, onions, peppers, chipotle peppers and jalapeno to the pot.  Give it a good stir and add in all the spices as well.  Cook this for several minutes until everything is a bit tender.

Beef and Pork Chili by Dandelion Daze

While the onions and peppers are cooking, brown the beef in a large skillet.  Drain off most of the fat and then add it to the pot with everything else.  You can also cook it directly in the pot after the onions and peppers are tender, but I like to remove some of the fat first, otherwise this can be a very greasy chili (but still delicious!).  Some people like it that way, so it’s up to you.  Do the same with the pork sausage, either brown it first and remove the fat or just cook it directly in the pot.

Once the meat has been added and is no longer pink, add the beer, beans and tomatoes.  You’ll give it a good stir, reduce the heat to low and then let it simmer for 90 minutes or longer.  This is a minimum, I like to let is simmer for closer to 2.5 hours to really let the flavors meld.

Beef and Pork Chili by Dandelion Daze

As you can see, this makes A LOT of chili!  My Dutch oven is 6.5 quarts and it’s nearly full.  Make sure you have a pot big enough or cut the ingredients in half if you don’t.

Dig in!  Serve over hot dogs with diced onions and cheddar cheese.  Or, my favorite, in a bowl with sour cream, cheddar cheese, sliced green onions and tortilla chips.

Go…….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

