Tags

,

I make a lot of play dough.  Like A Lot.  If your kids are anything like mine, they often leave their play dough right where it is when they’re done playing with it.  If I don’t make sure it gets put away, then a few days later when they want to play with it again, there isn’t anymore.

So I’ve searched the internet for the perfect play dough recipe.  There’s no shortage of recipes out there so I’ve experimented with a lot of them.  But, I’ve found that there is a shortage of good play dough recipes that don’t turn into a sticky mess all over your pots, counters and hands.  So today I want to share with you my “perfect” play dough recipe that I’ve come up with from combining a few.

I say it’s perfect because it only takes a few minutes to come together and is NOT a giant gloopy, sticky mess.  And because it’s made with Kool-Aid so the kids think it’s magic how it smells yummy and is super colorful.  My boys aren’t so much into the Easter-like pastels that result from using regular food coloring.  So, let’s get started, shall we?

Please ignore my dirty flour container.  I cook a lot.  It gets messy.  You understand :)

Please ignore my dirty flour container. I cook a lot. It gets messy. You understand 🙂

Perfect Kool-Aid Play Dough

1 cup all purpose flour
1 cup hot water
1/4 cup salt
1 Tbsp canola or vegetable oil
2 tsp cream of tartar
4 packets Kool Aid

All you do is combine everything in a pot and stir over low to medium heat until it clumps together in a ball.  This takes about 3 minutes of stirring pretty much constantly.  Once it clumps together, plop it on a piece of wax paper and let it cool for about 10 minutes.

Lemon and grape play dough!  The kids love how this stuff smells!  Orange smells a little funky to me, but my boys say it still smells awesome.

Lemon and grape play dough! The kids love how this stuff smells! Orange smells a little funky to me, but my boys say it still smells awesome.

Then you can knead it a few times and pass it off to the kids.  Make sure it is cool enough to handle before putting it in their little hands!

Set them up with their favorite play sets and a few batches of your play dough and they’ll be happy for hours!  Or at least a few minutes.  You know how it goes.

Homemade Kool Aid Play Dough by www.dandeliondaze.wordpress.com

See…kid approved!  My little man, C, is molding himself some new teeth with his dentist set since he somehow knocked out a baby tooth last week!  What am I going to do with him?!  I’m looking for the grey strands to start coming in my hair any day now!

My test for good play dough: can you roll it around in your hands and not have it all stuck to your palms?  YES!

My test for good play dough: can you roll it around in your hands and not have it all stuck to your palms? YES!

I hope you’ve enjoyed my recipe for homemade play dough.  Go……….impress your kids with it!  And create something beautiful today!

-Heather

