Weekends are for relaxing, right?  For getting in that family time or catching up on the things you never quite get to during the hectic work week, right?  So why does it seem that almost every Sunday evening, we are exhausted because of all the running around we’ve had to do for the past two days?  Or that the house is a mess because I didn’t have a chance to catch up on any cleaning?  Or that book and/or crochet project are still sitting half-finished?  Why has there not been a single period in this post so far that is currently 103 words long?  Or the kids’ rooms are so messy you can barely get to the bed without stepping on a Lego?  Because we seem to over plan and cram soooo much into those two days at the end of every week that we never get time to really enjoy the weekend!  Anyone else have this problem, or is it just us?  Have a period, I feel like there needs to be one finally.

Well this past weekend was just the opposite of what we normally have going on.  And it was soooo nice!

As usual, I couldn’t sleep past 6:45AM on Saturday morning.  Even though I was up watching TV with the man until 1:00AM.  So I made some coffee and finally used one of the beautiful new coffee cups I bought at Cracker Barrel in Utah and settled down to a book I’ve been meaning to start for a long time.

Drowning Ruth has been on my "to read" list for a long time.  I found this copy at the Friends of the Library bookstore for $1!!  It looks like it has been well read.  I love my Kindle, but I really do miss the feel and smell of a real book in my hands.

Drowning Ruth has been on my “to read” list for a long time. I found this copy at the Friends of the Library bookstore for $1!! It looks like it has been well read. I love my Kindle, but I really do miss the feel and smell of a real book in my hands.

Drowning Ruth promises to be a great read so far.  I only read about 70 pages over the weekend, but the story has me hooked for real!

The kids only let me read for so long as they wanted breakfast and cereal just wasn’t going to cut it!  As I was cooking up some bacon, sausage, eggs and pancakes, I snapped a few pictures of Pepperoni hanging out watching the chaos of a Saturday morning.

Pepperoni & Soda watching the action.  Probably hoping for a piece of bacon to hit the deck.  He thinks he's a dog.

Pepperoni & Soda watching the action. Probably hoping for a piece of bacon to hit the deck. He thinks he’s a dog.

I don't think he wanted a close up, as he's swiping at my phone.  Or maybe he just wanted to play Angry Birds...

I don’t think he wanted a close up, as he’s swiping at my phone. Or maybe he just wanted to play Angry Birds…

A little while later, I took my puppy girl Marley out for a short walk.  I don’t think I’ve talked about Marley girl yet.  She’s not really a puppy anymore as she is 3 years old and she has just really come into her own as a great dog.  No, we didn’t name her after that romantic comedy Marley and Me from a few years back.  I think it’s a romantic comedy, I don’t know, I’ve never seen it.  But everyone asks that question when they hear her name.  We named her Marley as in Robert Nesta.  That’s Bob Marley for anyone who doesn’t listen to much reggae.  She was just such a chill and mellow puppy it seemed to fit.  I wonder if that’s who the dog in the movie is named after??

Anyhow, my Marley (AKA Marles Barkley AKA Marley the Love Dog AKA Gnarly Marley) is a lab-pitbull mix who we got from the West End Animal Shelter in Ontario, CA when she was just 5 months old and she is just the sweetest thing.  She thinks she’s a 65 pound lap dog and we don’t really let her know that she wasn’t born to actually be a lap dog.

My pretty girl enjoying a break at the park and watching the kids play.

My pretty girl enjoying a break at the park and watching the kids play.

When we returned from our walk, my husband had gotten down the Christmas decorations so we could get to work.  It was, after all, December 1st!  I used to do my Christmas decorating on the day after Thanksgiving, but now that we are Utah each year for Thanksgiving, I like to do it on December 1 if I can.

I made this NOEL sign with wooden letters I purchased from Michael's a few years back.  I just painted them with acrylic paint and mounted them with velcro stickys to the wall.  I ran out of stickys so my L is a little crooked!  I'll fix that when I go to the store this week.

I made this NOEL sign with wooden letters I purchased from Michael’s a few years back. I just painted them with acrylic paint and mounted them with velcro stickys to the wall. I ran out of stickys so my L is a little crooked! I’ll fix that when I go to the store this week.

The mantle needs work!  I have been browsing Pinterest of course and have a bunch of ideas in mind :)

The mantle needs work! I have been browsing Pinterest of course and have a bunch of ideas in mind 🙂

This is one my very favorite Christmas decorations!

This is one my very favorite Christmas decorations!

This sleigh and everything in it is very special to me.  This is the fifth year that I’ve had it and the kids love to help me set it up every year.  The sleigh was something I saw at Costco five years ago and had to have.  The beautiful cross stitch pillow was made for me by my sister the same year.  She even cross stitched her name and the year in the bottom corner of the pillow.  The bear is a Build-A-Bear that I made for T when he was just a few months old, before he was a stinky football playing 2nd grader who I just love to pieces.  The Santa hat belonged to my mom when I was a kid and it totally reminds me of Christmas in the old two room house that we grew up in and that my dad and his siblings grew up in before us.  Finally, the quilt was made by Nona, my 91 year old great grandmother who lives in Oregon, for my boys.  Isn’t it amazing that my kids have a quilt made specially for them by their great great grandmother AND they’ve actually met her and know who she is?!  I love that, it makes me so happy!

My man was busy outside with the lights on the house while I was busy putting everything up inside.  The sky looked really angry and like it was going to open up any moment and it was beginning to get dark when he told me that he was going to “just” secure the reindeer and sleigh to the roof.  Of course I said he wouldn’t be able to get it done before it was dark and raining.  So, naturally, he took that as a challenge.  He set up some work lights on the roof and set to work.  He succeeded.

This is a horrible shot, the lights were messing with my phone, but there's my man, proving me wrong!

This is a horrible shot, the lights were messing with my phone, but there’s my man, proving me wrong!

I was able to round out my Sunday reading, cooking and working on my crochet.  Sounds like the perfect day, right?!  It was.  My sis-in-law came by to hang out for a bit and watch Return of the Jedi with the boys.  My dad was on his way home from a trip to Phoenix and stopped by just in time for the shrimp fajitas I made for dinner.  Truly an awesome day.

I am making something that is going to be seriously ADORABLE (sorry but use of caps is warranted for the cuteness coming together in this project) for my niece.  Her birthday was the week before last and I haven’t seen her yet so I’m still working on her present.  Her mom, my bestest bestie since we were in 6th grade together, is a reader so I can’t show you everything but here is a little sneak peek:

That's all ya get ;)  It doesn't do justice to the rest of the piece which I should have finished tonight or tomorrow but you'll see the finished thing after my little girl gets her gift!

That’s all ya get 😉 It doesn’t do justice to the rest of the piece which I should have finished tonight or tomorrow but you’ll see the finished thing after my little girl gets her gift!

Well, that’s about it.  I probably won’t have another weekend so relaxing for a while, so I’m really glad I got to enjoy it and share it with you all.

Hope you all had a great weekend as well, whether it was busy or relaxing, and that Monday isn’t getting the best of you!

Go……….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

