Tags

,

We’ve all stood in the kitchen with the fridge door wide open, not wanting to eat anything you see and just wishing that something would come together.  Well that’s sort of how lunch went at my house a few days ago.  I didn’t want anything heavy and I’m really trying to eat more protein and less carbs, so I was looking for something that I wouldn’t feel guilty for eating later.  I went over to the pantry next and found a can of cooked chicken breast and the next thing I knew, I was pulling ingredients out left and right.  I wasn’t going to blog about this meal because it was totally unplanned and I just threw it together.  But it turned out to be so good!  The kids wanted it again yesterday, so I took some photos when I made it again so I could share it with you all.

Apple & Sage Chicken Salad Pita by www.dandeliondaze.wprdpress.com

Collect these ingredients:

12 oz can chunk chicken breast, or this would be good with some leftover roasted chicken
1/2 cup light mayo (I’d like to try this with plain greek yogurt next time for less fat and more protein!)
1-1/2 Tablespoons red wine vinegar
1/2 Granny Smith apple, peeled and chopped
3 green onions, sliced
1 Tablespoon fresh sage, chopped
Salt and pepper to taste
Pita pockets (I used the Sara Lee whole wheat pitas, they are only 80 calories per pocket)

Drain the chicken, put it in a bowl and break it up with a fork.  Chop your apple and sage, slice up your green onions and throw those all in there with the chicken.  Then add the remaining ingredients and stir.  That’s it!  I put mine in a pita pocket with some red leaf lettuce.

Apple & Sage Chicken Salad Pita by www.dandeliondaze.wordpress.com

This was such a light and fresh lunch, but it was still totally satisfying!  I will definitely be making it again with the greek yogurt instead of mayo, but I’m not sure how it will taste!  I may need to make some adjustments to the other ingredients for it.  My sister also said this might be good with fresh broccoli.  There are all kinds of variations you can make with the basic recipe.  I hope you make it soon and enjoy!

Go……….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

