Tags

,

So sorry that I have been absent for a couple weeks!  I have been busy working on a few new crochet patterns which I hope to have up in the next few weeks.  One of them is stalled because I ran out of the yarn I was using for it, so that will have to wait a few more days!  I also have a couple big tests at school coming up so I am trying to avoid the giant time suck AKA the internet so I can get some major studying in.

I was just looking through my old posts and realized that I never posted my recipe for Garlic Scallion Mashed Potatoes that I promised several weeks ago.  I just love these potatoes and I hope you give them a try!  They are a great way to change up your traditional recipe and add some major flavor to your meal.  Also, they have no butter or milk in them so they are a lighter version of what you’re used to, but still very creamy and delicious.

So, here is what you need:

2 lbs potatoes, cut into large chunks or halved if using a small variety
2-4 cloves garlic, depending on your taste (I use 4!)
5 scallions chopped, both white and green parts
1/3 cup chicken stock
2 Tblsp Sunflower or Olive Oil
Salt and Pepper to taste

Grab a big pot and dump in your cut up potatoes.  I usually use Yukon Gold potatoes because they have a great texture but these were Russets that were threatening to sprout a gajillion eyes if I didn’t use them up.  Also throw in the garlic cloves.  You can leave the paper on the garlic if you’d like, it will just slide off once they’ve been cooked, but then you have to dig them out of the hot potatoes, so your choice.  Cover the potatoes with water and place on the stove over high heat and bring to a boil.  While you’re waiting for that to boil, turn on some music and do a little dance in your kitchen.  Ignore the kids making fun of your dance skills, they don’t know what’s up.  Am I the only one who cooks with music on?  I almost always have some tunes playing pretty loud while I cook!  Okay, so once the potatoes are boiling, throw some salt into the pot and let them boil for about 15 minutes.

Once the potatoes are done, I remove them from the pot to a bowl with a slotted spoon so I can easily grab those garlic cloves and remove the paper from them.  Add to the bowl of potatoes and garlic the scallions, sunflower or olive oil, chicken stock, salt and pepper.  Give them a good mash and they are done!  I use my hand mixer since I somehow never acquired a potato masher.  Don’t they look colorful and yummy?!

It’s okay if you eat a few bites right out of the serving bowl, I might possibly be guilty of that myself!

These are killer along side the Peach Whiskey BBQ Chicken I posted a few weeks ago, but would go great with steak or pot roast or well, anything!

Go………create something beautiful today!

-Heather

