Tags

, ,

Do you ever go to the store and get everything you need for dinners for the week, then go to cook something and realize you’re missing a key ingredient?  No?  Never?  Yeah, me neither.  Just kidding!!  I am so very guilty of this!  I almost didn’t take pictures of what I did here with this super delicious meal to make it all work.  I almost didn’t make it a post at all.  Because I was missing BBQ sauce.  For Peach Whiskey BBQ Chicken.  Kind of important.  But then I figured that I can’t be the only one who is silly enough to forget something like this and maybe I could give other silly people like me ideas on how to make it work anyhow.  I cook this way often, not just because I have been known to forget to things at the store from time to time, but because I’ll see something that sounds amazing and I have *most* of the ingredients on hand.  Then I just kind of fly by the seat of my pants for the rest of it.  That can be dangerous in the kitchen, but it works for me most of the time!  It’s yielded some interesting dishes as well as some amazing, “never ever stop making this!!!” sort of dishes.  This was one of the latter.

This recipe has been adapted a bit from The Pioneer Woman’s recipe.  I made her original recipe a few months ago and man, it was killer!!  The only reason I changed it up at all is so that I could make it in my slow cooker.  I must admit, the slow cooker and I are not exactly the best of friends.  I don’t dislike it, per se, I just haven’t found many recipes that I can make in it that I love.  I always think “Oh that would be so much better if I did x, y, z instead!”.  (I promise I don’t usually speak in alphabet variables!)  The only reason I wanted to use my slow cooker on this particular day was because it was 102 degrees outside and I really despised the idea of turning on the oven, especially having to leave it on for 2 hours!  So, let me show you what I decided to do.

So many delicious things in one picture!

My camera and I weren’t the best of friends this day either, so please excuse the quality of the photos!

We have here:
5-8 Chicken thighs, skin on
Sunflower or Olive Oil, 2-3 Tblsp
Butter, 2 Tblsp
1 Onion, chopped
4 Cloves Garlic, chopped
1 Jar Peach Preserves
1/2 Cup Whiskey
1 Cup Water
2 Tblsp Worcestershire Sauce
12 oz BBQ Sauce (I usually use Sweet Baby Ray’s, but of course I forgot it at the store!  Keep reading to see how I fixed that little problem!)

Okay so, after you grab all of your ingredients and realize that you forgot to buy BBQ sauce, go ahead and freak out for a second.  It’s okay to freak out sometimes, it allows you think the a little more clearly (or would that be more clear???) after you’re done with your freak out.  Say freak out a few more times because it’s fun.  So, I realized I didn’t have time to go to the store to buy more BBQ sauce if I wanted dinner ready before we had to leave for football practice for T and I also didn’t have an extra 30 minutes to make my own BBQ sauce and let it get all thickened up and delicious before I poured it in.  But then I realized that since it’s all going to be slow cooking on high for a few hours that *maybe* it would be okay if I just threw some BBQ sauce ingredients in the slow cooker along with everything else and let it cook off and get delicious that way.  I wasn’t super confident, but it worked beautifully!

So, here’s what I did:  I put a bowl in my food scale and zeroed it up.  Then I squirted in about 6 oz of ketchup, maybe 3 oz or so of molasses, a couple Tbspl each of Worcestershire sauce and white vinegar and about 2 Tblsp of brown sugar.  I just added my ingredients in amounts that seemed proportionate to when I make a regular batch and watched the needle on the scale until it reached 12 oz.  Flying by the seat of my pants in the kitchen (weird visual!) at it’s finest!  Okay so with that disaster averted, we move on….

Heat a skillet to medium high and add 2 Tbspl sunflower or olive oil and butter.  Just as the butter starts to turn color, add in the chicken pieces.  Let it get all golden and pretty before you turn it, something like this:

You can probably skip this step if you’d like.  But if you take the time to do this step, then it will cut the cooking time in the slow cooker down and, most importantly, lend some serious flavor to your meal.

Now, remove the chicken and put it in the slow cooker.  Pour off most of the pan drippings and add the onions and garlic to the pan.  You may need to let the pan cool a little first to avoid burning the onions and garlic.  Saute them until translucent, then transfer them to the slow cooker with the browned chicken.

Add all remaining ingredients to the slow cooker, put the lid on it and set it on high.  You can add more whiskey and less water if you’d like to be super sweet, but it is really sweet already the way I have written it.  Cook for approximately 2 and half hours, then serve with mashed potatoes.

Make sure to pour some of that sauce on the plate, too, it’s sooo good!

I made my Scallion and Garlic Mashed Potatoes to go with it and the two really compliment one another well.  I will tell you how to make them in another post very soon.

This chicken just falls off the bone, you don’t even need a knife!

I hope you’re keeping cool if you’re experiencing the same crazy heat we are here in SoCal!  If you have any great recipes for that slow cooker, please share them with me!!  I don’t want to turn on the oven tonight, either, but thankfully I have lots of leftovers!  We should be cooling off through the rest of the week and I really hope it stays that way.

Go………create something beautiful today!

-Heather

PS – I am linking this post up at Party Time over at The 36th Avenue.  Go check out what others have been up to!

