Tags

, , ,

I am so excited for Halloween!  It’s my favorite holiday, I just love the preparation of it all.  The planning of costumes, baking spooky treats and of course getting crafty with some new decorations.  I’m not doing too much today in the way of crafty business, but there was no way I could let October 1st pass me by without making something spooky!

This is going to look awesome on my wall!  I’m still trying to decide how to hang it.  Should I mod podge it onto a wood plaque?  I don’t want to take away from the burnt edges…  But I feel I need to seal those burnt edges so some mod podge is probably in order.  I think I am going to add grommets to the top and string some hemp twine through.

To make your own Halloween printables, all you need is to download some free fonts and images and then start playing around with them.  I made this in Excel.  The cells and page breaks make it easy for me to arrange things the way I want.  I know that’s not the best program for making these types of things, but I feel more comfortable with it since I am so familiar with the program from using it everyday when I was still working.

Check out this awesome post over at The 36th Avenue for 25 free Halloween fonts.  She tells you just where to find them!  The font I used is one I found through her post, it’s called DK Mothman.  I also made another with the font A Lolita Scorned….

This one is definitely going in my entryway!

I think I am going resist playing (safely!!) with fire and leave the edges on this one alone.  I’m almost definitely going to mod podge this one to a plaque.  I think a trip to the craft store is in order later today!!

The best part of all this is that these were free to make!  Free printables and images, plus I had the craft paper in my scrapbook stash.  I will have to go buy the plaque though, but I have a coupon, so the cost here will be very minimal.  Not bad for a sign that would for sure cost $20 at the store!

Go….create something SPOOKY today!

-Heather

PS…I am linking this post up over at CraftOManiac Monday.  Go check out what others have going on today!

