Tags

, ,

Last week, I found a few really cute crocheted items floating around on Pinterest and I knew that I could merge them together to create my own pattern.  After playing around with hook and yarn, I came up with this…..

My Puff Stitch Headband

I am really pleased with how this turned out!  I haven’t taken any pictures of it yet, but I have another on the hook right now in yellow and I can’t wait to finish it so I can wear it, too.  I have worn the gray one twice already and have received a lot of compliments on it.  If you’d like to make a puff stitch headband for yourself, I have written out the pattern below and you can also add it to your Ravelry queue here.  I hope it is clear enough to follow, as this is the first pattern I have written.  If something does not make sense, or you need clarification on anything, please let me know!

Puff Stitch Headband:

Hook: H (5.0 mm)
Yarn: I used Caron Simply Soft
Puff Stitch: Yarn over, insert hook in stitch indicated and draw up a loop (there will now be 3 loops on the hook).  Next, [yarn over and insert hook in same stitch and draw up a loop] 3 times (there will be 9 loops on the hook).  Now, yarn over and draw through first 8 loops, then yarn over again and draw through remaining 2 loops.

Ch 70 (Adjust this to fit around your head.  It seemed small to me, so I did 75 which ended up being too big and I have a big head!  I went back and did 70 which turned out perfect.)

Round 1: Sc in ridge of 3rd chain from hook and in each ridge across.  I like to crochet into the ridge, because it leaves the “V” of the chain showing on the bottom of the piece and makes for a cleaner look, in my opinion.

Here you can see where I’ve made my single crochets into the ridge of the chain on the right. You can also see the ridge and then the V’s on the left where you usually make your single crochets. I like to leave those intact, but that’s just me. I hope this visual helps explain a bit more what I mean about crocheting into the ridge of the chain.

Here you can see where I actually inserted the hook to make my next sc stitch.

After you sc in each ridge to the end of the chain, you will slip stitch both ends together to make a circle.  The tops of the chain will be connected, but the bottoms of the chain will not.  I know this seems funky, but you will stitch them together at the end.

Round 2: Ch 3, sk 1st sc, Puff in next sc, *ch 1, sk next sc, Puff in next sc*, repeat *to* to end of row.  Ch 1, sl st to top of first Puff.

Round 3: Ch 1, *Puff in ch-1 space from previous row, ch 1*

Repeat Round 3 until the headband is the desired width.  I did 5 rounds of puff stitches to make my headband.

Final Round: Sc in top of each Puff stitch and chain stitch around to end.  Join to first sc in round with sl st or seamless join method (my favorite method for joining!).

Weave in ends and go back and stitch together the bottoms of the chain from the beginning.

Knotted Band:

Ch 6, hdc in 2nd ch from hook to end, ch 1 and turn.

Hdc in front loops only across (5 hdc), ch 1 and turn.  Repeat this row until band is desired length.  the shorter you make it, the more ruched appearance your headband will have.  I made mine about 5.5″ long.

Wrap band around seam of your Puff Stitch Headband and sew the edges together on the inside of the headband.  Weave in your ends and you are done!

These would be great to whip us as quick gifts!  Of course you can play around with this and try different stitches, maybe do the knotted band in a different color or add a flower instead.  I hope you enjoyed my first pattern!!

Go…….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

PS I am linking up this post at these lovely blogs:

WIP Wednesday at Tami’s Amis
Keep Calm Craft On at Frontier Dreams
Party Time at The 36th Avenue
Hookin On Hump Day at My Merry Messy Life

Go check them out!!

