Tags

, ,

I ended up missing FO (Finished Object) Friday this week, but I still wanted to share the two slouchy hats that I made this week.  I am super happy with how they turned out!  I shared a few sneak peeks of them on my last WIP Wednesday post.

The first one I finished was for my husband and I really want to steal it!

Doesn’t his new hat look good on him? I just love this man! He keeps threatening to shave the beard, but I don’t want it to go.

You can find the pattern on Ravelry here.  It’s called the LAMB inspired hat.  I did 18 rows of double crochet and 5 rows of single crochet.

The other slouchy hat I made this week was for myself.  I don’t often make things for myself and I’ve been wanting to make this pattern for a long time now.

This picture is pretty true to color for this yarn. It’s a dark purple from Red Heart Soft Yarn. I don’t have the label anymore though, and I can’t remember the name of the colorway.

I’m really loving this pattern.  It’s very easy and has lots of trebles so it works up pretty quickly.  I made this hat in the medium size.  You can find the pattern on Ravelry here.  The pattern calls for a knit band, but I’m no good at knitting!  Instead, I made a ribbed single crochet band and slip stitched the edge of the band to the last round of the body of the hat.  I’ve written below how I made the band.  If you want the band wider or narrower just adjust the number of beginning chains.

Ribbed Single Crochet Band:
Chain 9
sc in 2nd chain from hook and in each chain across (8 sc) then chain 1 and turn.
sc in front loops only to end (8 sc)
Continue until band is desired length and slip stitch ends together.

I hope to make a few more of these, I think it would look great in a burnt orange colorway.  I’m excited to start making some cute cooler weather items!  Even though it’s been over 100 degrees here in So Cal the last few days!  Maybe I can will the cooler weather to us…

I started a new square this morning and it’s looking really cute.  Although, I don’t think it will be right for the project I had in mind for it, but I’m sure I can come up with something else for it.

This is from the Weekend in Stockholm Throw. I’ve been loving on this motif for a while now and it’s just as cute as I hoped it would be.

I hope you all are having a beautiful Sunday and keeping cool if you’re lucky enough to have the kind of heat that we do here!  My boys are all asking to go to the pool, so I think I am going to make us all some lunch and head on out for some afternoon swimming.

Go……….create something beautiful today!!

Heather

PS I am linking this post up over at:

Tami’s Ami’s even though I’m a few days late for her FO Friday!!
Craft-O-Maniac Monday

