Tags

,

Oh my goodness, I have been gone for a bit!!  So sorry about that!  I had a few big lab practicums and a final at school, all back-to-back.  Studying for those really dominated my life for a few weeks.  Taking a 6 unit Anatomy and Physiology class in 8 weeks is no joke!  School started up again for T (I now have a 2nd grader!  Yikes!!!) as well as tackle football.  The practice schedule has been pretty hardcore!  Anyhow, now that my litany of excuses for disappearing for several weeks from blogland is out of the way, let’s get down to business, shall we?

Today, as I was rummaging through my fridge for something to cook for dinner, I saw that I had two cucumbers that were in need of being eaten before they went bad in a few more days.  My fridge is looking pretty sad right now…I desperately need to hit the grocery store for a big stocking up.  I’m still not quite sure what I am making for dinner, but I knew right away how to prepare these cucumbers into a lovely vinegar marinated side dish!  And with summer winding down but the heat still blazing here in So Cal, I think this is the perfect addition to any end of summer BBQ.  Thankfully my pantry is the opposite of my fridge right now and I had just what I needed to whip up this refreshing side dish!  Here is what you’ll need:

I didn’t decide to take an ingredients photo until I had already sliced the cucumbers and onions. Whoops. I get a little ahead of myself sometimes!

2 Cucumbers, sliced
1/2 Red Onion, sliced
3 Tblsp Rice Vinegar
1 Tblsp Olive Oil
1 Tblsp Sugar
1/2 tsp Salt
1/2 tsp Dill (use 1 tsp if you are using fresh.  I didn’t have any on hand.)
1/8 tsp Black Pepper, freshly cracked

This recipe is so simple!  Just combine the sliced cukes and onions in a large(ish) glass or ceramic bowl.  Don’t use a metal bowl, as you don’t want the acidic vinegar to react with metal (gotta remember your chemistry in the kitchen!!).  Then, combine the remaining ingredients in a small glass bowl and stir with a fork or whisk until they are nicely combined.  This is such a fresh tasting marinade, you’re going to love it!  You can even try putting in a dollop of Greek yogurt or sour cream for a creamy texture. Next, pour the marinade over the top of the vegetables and give it a great big stir to combine.  I used my fingers to separate the cucumber slices to make sure that everything was evenly and wonderfully coated.

So pretty! I love the colors here.

Go ahead and cover this up with some plastic wrap and let it sit in the fridge for at least a few hours before serving.  I did sneak a bite or two before I covered it and I can tell you this is sooo yummy!  I can’t wait until it’s cold and I can eat it next to some grilled chicken for dinner tonight.  I bet this would be great as a side to some seared salmon.  Enjoy!

Go…….create something beautiful today!

Heather

