Tags

Good morning!  I hope you all had a great weekend.  Mine was super fun, full of lots of time hanging out with my family and our amazing friends.  Recently, however, I found a new friend.  Spray paint!  How have I not been spray painting things all along?!  It’s not surprising that my love of spray paint followed quickly on the heels of my discovery of Pinterest.  I realize that I was waaay late jumping on the Pinterest bandwagon.  Like I needed another time suck in my life?  I didn’t, but I finally gave in and now my head is swimming with all the amazingly creative stuff going on over there!  So, I’ve been trying to figure out how to (cheaply!!) infuse more color into my home.  I don’t dislike the items I have decorated my home with, I just dislike their lack of exciting colors.

A few weeks ago, I took the kids with me to the Goodwill in search of pillowcases which were soon to be superhero capes for C’s birthday party (post on that bit of crafty business coming soon) when I found a gold (blech!!) mirror for $2.99.

$2.99 was much better than $12.99 for this gold mirror! Now I just needed to decide on a new color.

I knew I had to have this as soon as I saw it!  I was picturing a bright yellow frame, or maybe teal.  I don’t have many mirrors in my house and I have been keeping an eye out for ones I like that aren’t super expensive.  This fit the bill, for sure!  I figured if I totally botched the spray paint job, I was out $3.00 and a little bit of paint…what did I have to lose?!  I made a detour on the way home to buy a can of spray paint so I could get started as soon as I walked in the door.  I chose a burgundy red, despite the beautiful yellow or teal that I wanted to go with.  I decided that this would go in our bedroom and my husband isn’t real crazy about the wild colors that I would splash everywhere if I could.  When we eventually redecorate our room, we are going to go with a dark red color scheme, so it made perfect sense.

Once I got the boys settled in the backyard with some snacks and sidewalk chalk, I got to work on my mirror.  There wasn’t a very good way to remove the mirror from the frame so I decided to just grab some newspaper and my painter’s tape.

The tricky part is getting the tape on the mirror under the edge of the frame. I used the edge of a card stock mailer that came in my junk mail to help get the tape where I needed it to be.

Next, I sanded down the frame, but now I think I could have skipped that step and it would have turned out better.  I used a course grit sand paper followed by a fine grit sand paper, but you can still see the fine scratches under the spray paint if you look closely.  After that step, I laid out a tarp on my driveway and started spraying.

The hardest part about this project was next…waiting for the paint to dry.  After about 30 minutes the paint was dry enough that I could pick it up and bring it back in the garage.  I stood in my driveway for that 30 minutes trying to make sure that the breeze didn’t kick up and blow any leaves into the wet paint.  Watching paint dry isn’t exactly fun.  It was worth it, though, because the end product turned out really great.

I’m sort of in love with this.  I keep seeing items in my home in different colors now that I know how easy it is to change them up!  I think spray paint and I will have a long, lovely friendship.

Go…….create something beautiful today!

-Heather

